We all love uploading “selfies”, dancing to Tik Tok, sharing our travel experiences, and ranting on our Facebook wall - but what happens to this “content” when you have passed away? Who owns it? How can your loved ones get access to it?
With an increasingly digital world, our most fond memories are often shared online or stored digitally (gone are the days spending hours slaving over physical photo albums!). Although storing our memories digitally is a great idea while we are alive, these memories can be lost, if we do not consider how we are going to pass down our digital information once we are no longer here.
Most often the content we upload on these platforms, no longer belongs to us but rather, it belongs to the provider of the social media or other digital platform. Each platform has their own policies and processes that we must follow, in regards to what happens upon the death of a user of their platform. Take these different policies and processes for example; Facebook have a setting (“your legacy contact”) that specifically lets you choose someone to manage your account once you have passed away or you can request that upon your death your account is permanently deleted. Google on the other hand, has very intensive policies. They require information such as: probate, proof of death, proof of ID etc. to enable someone access to a deceased’s account.
These policies and procedures can become very overwhelming, especially if your loved ones are grieving and simply want to access your photos for memorabilia (or to have a laugh at your Tik Tok dance moves!).
With this in mind, Gallie Miles are now asking our clients if they would like to leave a note with their Wills that records passwords and access information to the various digital platforms they use. Please contact us if you would like to make a Will or add a note to your existing Will to help your loved ones manage your “digital legacy” once you leave this world.